Tyrone McKenna will make another defence of his WBC International 140 Lbs title in London next February 21st.

More to come.

The champion had retained his title against  Mikey Sakyi .    ‘The Mighty Celt’ McKenna (19-1-1, 6 KOs) outpointed Southern Area king Sakyi at the York Hall in London on Friday 22nd November last year.  

The championship was  part of a tournament called “Golden Contract” and was live on Sky Sports in the UK in association with Matchroom Boxing and on ESPN+ in the US in association with Top Rank.   MTK GLOBAL promoted the championship.  

The 29-year-old champion scored a convincing points win over Mikey Sakyi.   Despite being stung by a body shot in he second round, WBC International champion McKenna (20-1-1, 6 KOs) dominated the bout at York Hall.   McKenna said after the championship:   “I enjoyed it. I think it is the first fight I’ve ever had without a cut,” McKenna told Sky Sports.   “I stuck to the instructions and kept him at range for most of the team. He is very strong and slick but I think I controlled it.   “I’m usually in a war, but today I boxed and kept him at range. He is very heavy handed.   “He caught me in the second. It was a lovely body shot. I didn’t want to go down as it would give him momentum.   “I could have gone down, but I didn’t. Us Irish are made of steel.”   McKenna outworked Sakyi in the opening round, applying pressure on the front foot.   Sakyi responded in the second and had McKenna in trouble after connecting with a inch-perfect left hook under the ribcage of the Belfast fighter.      Sakyi tried to muster a response in the ninth but it was McKenna who landed the cleaner shots, and the Belfast man was comfortable in the final round as he eased to victory.

Tyrone McKenna   WUD10   Darragh Foley

Weigh-in started at 13:24 in Clayton hotel

Tyrone McKenna            139.2 Lbs = 63.14 Kgs

Darragh Foley                   139.1 Lbs = 63.09 Kgs

All weights done from the first attempt



Former SuperLightweight Champions

Baishanbo Nasiyiwula   China

Ohara Davies    England

Paul Kamanga     Congo

Aik Shakhnazaryan     Armenia

Nicolas Gonzalez Perez      Spain

John Wayne Hibbert     England

Dave Ryan     England

John Wayne Hibbert     England 

Chris Jenkins     England 

Viktor Postol     Ukraine

Prawet Singwancha     Thailand

Sergey Sorokin       Russia  

Giuseppe Lauri       Italy  

Ricky Hatton       England  

José Luis Castillo        Mexico  

Herman Ngoudjo        Cameroon  

Paulie Malignaggi        USA  

Miguel Angel Cotto        Puerto Rico  

Ike Quartey        Ghana  

Oktay “Cassius” Urkal        Turkey  

Guillermo Mosquera Zuñiga        Venezuela  

Jan Bergman        South Africa  

Viatcheslav Barinov        Russia  

Mikhail Krivolapov        Russia

Salvatore Nardino        Italy

Luis Carlos Dorea        Brazil  

Wilf Gentzen        Australia

Tony Jones      Australia